One Sunflower

now the rubber hits the road….

on September 27, 2009

So now the rubber is really hitting the road.  I just finished my second week of school – we will be celebrating our 10th day next Tuesday.  I’ve adjusted our daily routine 4 times – something I hate to do knowing how much preschoolers need predictable routines!  But I am really trying to refine a schedule that incorporates everything that is required by our Head Start and District program- breakfast, tooth brushing, lunch, work across the domains – and yet somehow includes time to :

1) write notes to parents

2) do class projects that create community

3) plan and carry out hands-on activities that promote skill development

4) create a real readers/writers workshop for preschool students – which includes time to confer with students individually

all of this  in  3.5 hours a day, 4 days/week!

On Thursday I attended a meeting with the assistant superintendent, my principal,  collaborating K teacher and Gates grant coordinators to plan for some of the literacy work we’ll be doing this year.  The K teacher and I have been named “studio” classrooms for this work and as such will be practicing workshop models, student journals, student conferring.

Our K teacher has already been doing all of this but there is a different sort of emphasis this year using suggestions from David Matteson’s books and the trainings we’ve attended with him over the past year.  It is all new to me.  I’ve done a lot of work on developing literacy and oral language with my students but have not set up systems around the workshop model or student journals.  I’m excited but definitely challenged by the prospect.  I am glad this is a year to experiment, tweak, ask questions, and refine.

Next Tuesday my classroom will be part of a district “walk through.”  At first I was so worried about what I was going to be doing – as though it was a performance – with me and my students on stage!  But, of course, it is about doing what is developmentally appropriate with my students and fully acknowledging where they are on this continuum of learning to be readers and writers.  So I’m still thinking about my plan – I was up in the middle of the night last night with my brain sparking.  Hopefully by tomorrow night I’ll have something ready to write up and do.

Leave a Reply

