One Sunflower

calendar journaling

on October 26, 2009

One of my peer teachers asked me to show her how I do a calendar journal with my students.  The idea for this type of calendar was shared with us by David Matteson last year and my co-teacher and I put it in place last spring.  I tweaked it a bit this year because I wanted it big enough so children could realistically draw some of the entries. It has been so cool to see the kids request the “telling of the calendar,” working together to recount every entry.  They have their favorites of course!  I do have a smaller calendar in the classroom to practice counting and singing the days of the week but this journal calendar helps me show a reason for knowing and recording a date and to keep classroom stories alive.

The papers for each day are substantial at 5″X7″ and I’ve begun to enlist the help of my students in creating entries.  I began the year by drawing the pictures  including the children in thinking about memorable parts of our days together and what might be a good entry.  I was choosy – wanting to be sure that what I put there would be memorable – although that has been a lesson in itself.  Sometimes the choices weren’t memorable and we used them as examples of not-so-interesting-stories. 

 At the end of each month I am posting the entries on the wall with the month’s heading above the pictures.  I’m not sure I’ll be able to go all the way around the room because I’ve got a lot of obstacles but we’ll see what we can do. 

Leave a Reply

