One Sunflower

Absence

on October 27, 2009

I hardly ever miss school.  My immune system must be very strong after all these years of being around snotty nosed kids because I’m rarely sick.  Occasionally I’ve had to be absent to care for my son.  Such was the case this week.  I missed half a day last week – a planned absence because I knew he was having surgery.  But today I ended up having to request a sub in the wee hours of the morning because he got an infection in his wound site and I had to take him to Children’s Hospital in Seattle.  

One of the most substantial benefits of being part of a school district is that I have access to substitute teachers.  I have worked in daycares where there isn’t a sub-pool at all, and in co-op preschools where parents of students fill in when a teacher is absent.  There are always challenges when substitutes come into classrooms.  Our center has slowly established a pool of subs familiar with the preschool and birth-to-three programs but these people aren’t always available. 

  

Such was the case today when I was gone.  But it is comforting to know that all the other supports that are in place in the school provided my regular aide and this new sub with everything they needed to have a successful day with the children.   I will be returning to the classroom tomorrow.  I began a “sub tub” a few weeks ago but I hadn’t finished organizing it.  I will need to attend to that responsibility, pronto!

Leave a Reply

