One Sunflower

wit’s end

on October 30, 2009

Alpha is under a table, kicking it with his feet.  Bad words, provocative behavior, disruption of other children’s activities, all of these behaviors have preceded his current position of retreat. 

I’m tired.  It’s the day before Halloween and the kids are excitable. It’s been a long week of days punctuated by these behaviors of Alpha’s.  I’m at my wit’s end.  I call his mom and request that she pick him up. (I’ve only done this once before and that was when a child punched another child full in the face.)  Then I take Alpha out into the hall way for a chat – this isn’t the first time today that I’ve tried to have a heart to heart.  But now I’ve called his mom and the stakes are higher;  he decides to listen.  I pick him up and carry him into the classroom. 

Maybe I should have picked him up earlier.  He seems to feel calmer in my arms.  “Do you have an idea of what you would like to do if you stay at school?” I ask.  “Playdough.”  Excellent choice – sensory activities always help my students when they are riled up – but I can’t always lead a horse to water.

I call his mom back up and tell her we’re going to try to make it through the end of the day.  “Call me back if you need to,” she says.  Thanks, mom.   A vote of confidence.  I need one right now.  

There is more trouble at lunch, but the day is almost over, I can make it and so can he.

Leave a Reply

