One Sunflower

cheerleaders

on November 1, 2009

Everyone needs cheerleaders. 

Last Friday was awful for me, I hate feeling like I’m failing a child.  I came home exhausted, took a nap and still ended up going to bed at 8:30.  I woke up Saturday morning – still tired, and had a good cry.  I don’t think I’m the only teacher who has had an experience like this.  There is nothing like a child to render an adult helpless – I’ve felt this way as a parent and an educator.  The difference is that as a parent I could cuddle up with my tantruming child on the sofa, or call on my spouse, another mom, my own mom and ask for help. 

Thanks to all of you who have listened to my tale of woe this weekend.  I’ve caught up on my sleep, gone out to lunch with my mom, spent time therapeutically cleaning bathrooms and closets. 

Rah, rah, you can do it.  Tomorrow I’ll be back at school trying to figure out how to be responsive to Alpha’s needs and still be the teacher that I need to be.

One response to “cheerleaders

  1. Trout says:

    Dear One Sunflower,

    Do hang in there; I imagine these children may depend on your believing in their ability to be successful more than you might know!

    Thank you for writing so honestly about your work as an educator. I look forward to reading your entries because I know that I will be drawn into the reality of your work with children. I’m learning so much about your teaching environment and the important minute to minute decisions you make in response to the children’s needs.

    Thanks again and again,

    Trout

Leave a Reply

