One Sunflower

Rubato

I have a little leather-bound pad of paper that I keep words in – I love words.  I love reading about their etymology and all the definitions.

I heard an interview with author Laura Hillenbrand and she used words full of sensory detail and not common in dialogue.  She was describing the stride of the horse, Zenyatta, as one that “just swallows the ground.” I love it!

Back to my little book.  I found this word a few years ago: Rubato. It is a musical term describing a kind of tempo in music: “characteristic of the Romantic period.  It is a style where the strict tempo is temporarily abandoned for a more emotional tone.”

Summer is in rubato time for me – but I sort of hope I can keep this kind of tempo in September too.

read more SOL stories at Two Writing Teachers link


5 Comments »