One Sunflower

slice of a slice

on October 26, 2010

A few months ago I kind of tricked my mom into writing for the Slice of Life writing challenge sponsored by Two Writing Teachers.  I did it because she was kind of feeling blue about some health problems she and my dad were facing – and because she’s always loved to write.   She’s always been one for challenges – she raised 4 kids born in 5 years, has camped with my dad and and all of us kids up and down the eastern seaboard and put up being crammed into a 25 foot sailboat sailing around the San Juan Islands.  She’s led many a Girl Scout troop, taught herself to knit and quilt, became a teacher and taught for some years, and has since traveled on all the continents including a trip up the Amazon and one to Antarctica. I knew she could handle writing something once a week.

She sends me her entries via email on the weekend and I save them in a folder titled “mom’s musings.”  She’s also begun to put pictures on her Picasa web site that I can download to accompany her writing.  At first I did a lot of editing.  She is a two fingered typist and there used to be a lot of extra capital letters and spaces and periods.  But I’m not having to edit them as much any more.  I copy them to her blog on Sunday, check all the punctuation on Monday and get them posted for the Tuesday slice.

What I like the most about this little enterprise is that my mom finds herself thinking about the stories she wants to tell and she’s got friends and family who are checking in regularly to read.  She loves the comments that come along occasionally.  We have lunch together almost every Saturday and she tells me her stories. Then I see them turn up in her “slices.”  While I have stories written by my mother of her childhood tucked away in a manila envelope, I’m loving that I get to hear her talk about this writing as its happening.

4 responses to “slice of a slice

  1. LisaC says:

    I helped my grandma write my grandfather’s biography many years ago using a similar process. It was such a rewarding experience!

  2. This is so great. I have been thinking about how to get my dad to write down his stories. Maybe I will share this idea with him.

  3. Stacey says:

    It’s wonderful that you’ve inspired her to write and are helping her along with the process. What a lovely collaboration the two of you have! 🙂

  4. I love this, Amelia. My mom wants to write her stories. I have tried to encourage her, but she has, at 94, a well-developed “it’s not good enough” block. To say nothing of an inability to make it a priority. What could could take precedence at 94!

Leave a Reply

