One Sunflower

performance enhancer

on November 15, 2010

The organist at my church is an accomplished pianist. Everyone looks forward to the moments when we are able to focus on the contributions Judy brings to our worship.  We are especially appreciative of opportunities for her to solo – during our offering and at the end of the service after the benediction.  I find myself leaning forward to watch and listen to her play.

This past Sunday, she was accompanied by a viola player.  The music was complicated and fast and required the assistance of our choir director, Debbie, at her elbow to follow along and turn the pages.  I was delighted to watch the intensity of these 3 musicians.  The viola player standing next to the piano, swooping his bow and plucking strings; our pianist with her hands dancing up and down the keyboard while Debbie sat quietly off to one side, her glasses perched on her nose as she followed along with the music and dipped her arm in carefully to flick the pages at just the right time.

I want to teach like Debbie turns pages – hovering just at the elbows of my students, following along intently as the music of their play demands rapt attention.

5 responses to “performance enhancer

  1. Katie says:

    Your imagery of standing at the elbows of your students really struck a chord with me. This is what good teaching looks like! I will remember that I as go forward today.

  2. Juliann says:

    What a great image! I have had so many of these ah moments as I reflect on my drum lessons and how my teacher so gently guides me from frustration and moments of giving up back to a place where I know I can do it with just a little help.

  3. Ruth Ferris says:

    Great connections. I like the imagery.

  4. tara says:

    I, too, loved the connection between music and teaching. Oragnists fscinate me – just watching their feet fly over the pedals is exhausting!

  5. Stacey says:

    What a beautiful thing to say… that you want to teach like Debbie turns pages. It sounds like we can all aspire to be a little like Debbie.

Leave a Reply

