One Sunflower

piecing together a gift

on January 18, 2011

The curled up body of the journey doll called to me from my nest of stuff, bidding me to make a gift to take to the healing circle.  I unfolded the arms and legs and thought about color.

When I first begin to create a doll I wrap it in fabric and shape the cloth into an outline of an article of clothing, folding and rolling, tucking here and there to see what sort of dress the doll should be wearing.  The green wool I chose felt soft and substantial.  I circled it with my favorite cotton batting, the kind that still has bits of grass in it, and wrapping them both around the doll I knew I had found her journeying clothes.

I decided to give this doll traveling clothes of green, a color of health, of spring, and growth.

The drape and shape would symbolize my wishes for my friend’s spirit to be cocooned and held gently, for healing of the body and spirit to begin.

With her cloak delicately edged in gold thread and beads, the doll seems to have emerged from the forest, a native and wise crone.  Her boots are soft and high on her leg, for protection and comfort. She stands ready to take on the burdens of a new journey, and perhaps she’ll gather wild flowers this time, to tuck in her braids along way.

 


2 responses to “piecing together a gift

  1. Tara says:

    The loving detail with which you crafted the doll and its retelling was so beautiful…these lines have really stayed with me: “The drape and shape would symbolize my wishes for my friend’s spirit to be cocooned and held gently, for healing of the body and spirit to begin.” You are a loving friend….

Leave a Reply

