One Sunflower

focus on fun

on February 22, 2011

It was an absolutely gorgeous sunny day, but the wind was blowing fiercely and the chill was bone numbing.  So we sat inside and discussed ideas for our “one little word” books beginning with a show-and-tell of our January pages.  We admonished each other for resorting to computer printed work in favorite fonts instead of using our own handwriting!

Then we got out our cameras and began to prowl around the house, snapping photos of anything and everything.  The assignment for the February page was to choose nine 2 ½” by 3 ½” photo pieces to put into little pockets to make a page.

Sunday wasn’t as cold so we visited a local garden shop and took even more pictures.  It is so interesting to look at things through the lens of a camera.   I’ve been using Picasa for a while but my friend is new to photo editing. We spent as much time on our computers manipulating photos as we did in taking them!  We broke for meals while we waited for pictures to be processed by the local drug store and then spent a lovely afternoon in the sun comparing, cropping, and arranging our compositions on the page.

My friend turned to me at one point and said, “This is pure fun!”  I’m looking forward to playing around with the March page when the assignment comes in a few weeks.  I might even break down and do some handwriting!

6 responses to “focus on fun

  1. Diana says:

    Ooooooh, love the pics. Please say more about your “one little word” books. I am intrigued.

  2. Tara says:

    Love the pictures – the green railing (is that what it is) against the blue sky was gorgeous, and the hats, too – lots of stories hidden in these!

  3. elsie says:

    Cool pictures! Makes me want to break out and see what I can find with my (new) camera.

  4. Tam Hess says:

    The hats are the best. Yes, I would like to know more about the “one little word book.” Thanks for reminding me about using pictures to write.

  5. My daughter and I worked on our OLW books a few weeks ago. I am aiming for more handwriting this month too. It is a great project to work on with a friend – love that accountability.

  6. deanna says:

    Hi Onesunflower,
    Yes, a day of pure fun!!! So far, the One Little Word experience captures my imagination and opens up new ways to express my more artistic side. Thank you so much for discovering this opportunity and getting us started on a new adventure.

Leave a Reply

