One Sunflower

waiting for Godot

on March 6, 2011

Waiting for Godot was a play produced by my high school when I participated in the drama department.  This title has become my refrain whenever I am waiting for something, anything – a guest, a holiday, the dishwasher to finish.

Right now I’m waiting for our Head Start review process to happen.  It is supposed to happen sometime this year but we don’t know when.  We have been told a team will descend upon us on a Monday without warning and although our community has created an agenda for the visit – and I know some of what I will need to be doing – there is so much unknowing it is incredibly disturbing.

Every Sunday I go to bed wondering, will tomorrow be the day?  Are my lesson plans the most wonderful and detailed that they can be? And if I have any hint of a cough or sore throat I am wishing:  Please, I can’t get sick until after the review.

Pleasant dreams.

3 responses to “waiting for Godot

  1. Katie says:

    I am sure you will be fabulous!

  2. Diana says:

    Those kind of visits from evaluators that don’t really know your kids, your school, or you are very stressful. When I was working in special ed, I hated when Medicaid would come to look through all of our paperwork. What does looking at a piece of paper really show anyway? I will be glad for you when it is all over.

  3. I can feel your tension in this waiting. Hope that the review all goes by you and soon. Your strength should be saved for kids because they are why we get up each day and do this good work.

Leave a Reply

