One Sunflower

we’re all teachers here

on March 9, 2011

Every few weeks I post 16 pieces of big paper around the classroom and in the last half hour of the day, after my teacher story model, I challenge the students to draw.  This week I suggested drawing animals because I want to build up their skills for our silk banner project, (more on this in the next few weeks.)

Usually I let the kids choose their paper but this time I positioned them in order to foster some peer teaching.  It was great to see that it worked.  Eric taught 3 of his friends how to draw a tree, Daisy modeled how to draw a rabbit for her neighbor and Maestra supported José to draw a lion.

2 responses to “we’re all teachers here

  1. MaryHelen says:

    What a fantastic idea! We use the book Talking, Drawing, Writing by Horn and Giacobbe in kindergarten. I like the idea of the students being a mentor to each other with their illustrations. The pictures of the children are adorable.

  2. Katie says:

    How sweet and what a great idea. They’re never to young to start teaching each other.

Leave a Reply

