One Sunflower

my first good-bye

on April 3, 2011

Friday was his last day.  His family is headed to Pasco to work the asparagus harvest and won’t be returning until June; preschool ends before Memorial Day.

I was glad that I had been steadily working on student portfolios this year, making a page every month!  I took his file home Thursday night and culled through the work and photos I had been putting aside just for this purpose.  It wasn’t difficult to put together a cover page, list of classmates and a quick narrative of this student’s experience in preschool.

But I am anxious for this student. Every year I have 2 students that I worry about as they move into kindergarten and this boy is one of them.  It all comes down to his exposure to English as a second language.  His work has been satisfactory, his fine motor skills are average for his age as a summer birthday child.  But he struggles to attend when he doesn’t understand, becomes easily distracted and it impacts his work ethic.  I worry about his experience next year as he moves from a teacher to student ratio of 1/8 to a classroom where it is 1/20.

The one thing I can count on is that he and his mom are comfortable in the school community, know a bit more about accessing resources and will feel welcomed when they return to the area.

2 responses to “my first good-bye

  1. Donna Smith says:

    Every year there are one or two…sometimes more…that you are just afraid for.

  2. Christy says:

    Somehow it is more difficult to let go when we have to say goodbye to one or two at time. 8th grade graduation is always bittersweet for me, but it never hits me the way it does when a student moves away mid-year. I like the way you left out his name, but didn’t make it noticeable. I had to check twice. The work you have done with him and your well wishes for him are surely going to follow him into his future!

Leave a Reply

