One Sunflower

pacing

on April 5, 2011

The best day of a vacation is always the first day that I would have been at work, the first day I really get to stay in bed after the alarm goes off, after I’ve fed the dog and let her out, after my husband leaves for work.

But I don’t stay in bed long because my whole body shouts “you’re on vacation, don’t waste a minute!”

Enjoying vacation is all about pacing for me.  I want enough time doing things I don’t ordinarily get to do, (knit for an hour instead of 30 minutes in the morning,) accomplishing tasks that I’ve put off until this week because it means I’ll have enough time to get them done, (like taxes,) and doing special vacation-y things, (like lunch out with my parents.)

Tomorrow, a friend of mine is driving north, picking me up and hoisting me off some place for 3 days.  I don’t know where we are going but I know I will have fun.  I’ll be back for the weekend with enough time left in my week to be rested by the time Monday rolls around again.

9 responses to “pacing

  1. Tam says:

    Ah, vacations!! You have started it well! Escape the routine, relax but notice, and bring back more slices!

  2. Linda Baie says:

    I just finished mine. Happy time off! It seems that you have great plans.

  3. Stephanie says:

    Wasting vacation — I struggle with that, too! There are so many things put off in the busyness, but when time is available, we don’t want to be busy. I guess, as in all things, balance is the key. Enjoy!

  4. Donna Smith says:

    E-n-v-i-o-u-s…
    But pretty soon that will be me. Love a spring break to do the less than ordinary and the ordinary that we don’t get to do! Have fun, fun, fun!

  5. elsie says:

    I too, savor that first day of vacation! Sounds like you have a fun time planned for the next few days, I’m sure there will be slices to tell. Enjoy!

  6. MaryHelen says:

    Yes, vacation is awesome. I’m on spring break, and my first morning, I took extra time to read blogs and write. It was refreshing for me. Your trip sounds like fun. I bet you will find a great slice in your moments of fun.

  7. Kjersten says:

    I like the idea of a ritual like knitting every morning. I used to do yoga every morning but switched to doing it later in the day. It’s a nice thought to do something creative with my hands.

    Have a great vacation!

  8. Hope your time away is wonderful. I am settling into my break starting today! I look forward to a different pace too.

  9. Diana Martin says:

    Not on break yet. I have two more weeks to go until I can do “vacation-y” things. And you are right, there is nothing like that first morning feeling. Love it.

Leave a Reply

