One Sunflower

taking up the poetry challenge

on April 9, 2011

I’m totally inspired by the poetry that Donna is posting on her Mainely Writes Blog.  I just spent three days (hey! I’m on vacation!) putting together a triolet.  What a tricky enterprise!

I read that poets sometimes mess a tiny bit with the phrasing so I had some fun.   Here is my first attempt:

In the woods, I pause to see
what I can see, without a sound.
Worm in mouth, the robin looks at me
in the woods; I pause to see.
Doe and fawn, dart and flee,
a rabbit grazes on buttercup mound.
In the woods, I pause to see.
What can I see without a sound?

2 responses to “taking up the poetry challenge

  1. jee young says:

    Thank you for putting me on your blog roll!! It’s funny, b/c I was just about to put you on mine when I noticed that I’m on yours too! 🙂 I enjoyed reading your posts during the sol challenge. I’ll try to keep up with slicing on Tuesdays as well. –jee young

  2. Donna Smith says:

    Yea! Nice triolet! Oh, dear, I just noticed that rhymes. I’ll try to stop that. I like how you found the quiet things that you can see, if you are quiet also! Peaceful!

Leave a Reply

