One Sunflower

one foot in front of the other

on April 26, 2011

I’m trying really hard not to write an entry that is a to-do list.  But right now my mind is chock full of things that need to get done in the last 18 days I have with my students.  I know it will all get done, it always does.

When I picked up my student’s “completion” certificates last week, I felt a little sadness realizing the year is ending.  It will be hard to say goodbye to this little group, they’ve been such a charming class.

Don’t get me wrong!  I am ready for vacation, my reading list is growing.  It isn’t enough that I have to-do lists for the end of school, it seems that I’m making lists for summer vacation too.  I really should learn to take my days one at a time.

6 responses to “one foot in front of the other

  1. I have enjoyed my first visit to your blog – we are in opposite Washingtons, but we love and write about the same dear topic. I will visit again! Good luck with the end of the year…savor the moments with your little ones.

  2. Ruth says:

    Ahh…one at a time. It’s good advice, wise advice, and seems so simple. In reality, though, time just swirls around and we move in and out — big picture and small moments.

    18 days…so short. Enjoy it!
    Ruth

  3. Donna Smith says:

    We have longer than 18 days, but still the swirling effect of little time and much to do has begun. I have to remind myself to not fret, it always gets done, or it isn’t important in the grand scheme. Enjoy the last few days. We’ll be going until the last part of June! Snow days…they were fun at the time!

  4. Linda Baie says:

    Wow, only 18 days. I imagine that you are feeling a bit nostalgic for the class leaving. It’s such a special time, all those things to wrap up, but with so many accomplishments to be proud of. I hope you enjoy each and every day, then relax before the summer list.

  5. Katy Pettit says:

    I so understand the need for lists. Try not to let the crunch of the end of the year stress you out. It is always so stressing, take it one hr at a time. Try to enjoy these end moments with your little ones. It does go so quickly!

  6. tam says:

    One never has enough time when they’re enjoying what they’re doing. Be good to yourself, and choose what is important right now. It will all fall into place and then your cherished reading begins!!

Leave a Reply

