One Sunflower

i don’t think so….

on May 3, 2011

April’s One Little Word prompt was to write a letter to myself naming “what you want your life to look like and how do you hope your word will impact you?”

I hate – sorry, strongly dislike – activities that resemble formal “resolutions.”  I’m willing to set goals in my teaching; I’m willing to name projects and enterprises I’d like to get involved in; I’m willing to make lists of books I want to read, and to-do lists that are weekly in nature.  When I was younger, it seemed to be natural to think, even dream, about what I might be doing in a year, but honey, those times are long gone! My years are so similar now I need my children’s birthdays to know that time is truly passing!   When I think about what I want for myself in a year, well, I hope it’s more of the same – same relationships, same job, same house, same health, same level of activities.

April’s page in my One Little Word book became a letter to myself describing all the wonderfulness of my life now and how I’m hoping for double scoops next year.

So, imagine my dismay to find that May’s prompt is to make a list of “thoughts, feelings, tasks, missions, objectives, those sorts of things” tied to my one little word.  Bah humbug!!  My word is notice.  I’m noticing that I’m quite perturbed by this task!

I think I’ll create some sort of “to-be” list.  It really adds up to the same sort of thing but I will feel so much better feeling compelled to “be” rather than “do.”

10 responses to “i don’t think so….

  1. Linda Baie says:

    It’s hard to put ourself into a little box in order to follow someone else’s direction. Don’t you imagine that from that prompt, you’ve just rearranged it into something personal? Your own thoughts about your life are what’s important, so go ‘be’ that.

  2. grade4wizard says:

    I like how you adapt the writing assignments to fit you. I also like how you step away from the change and action and appreciate the “same” and “be.”
    Terje

  3. blkdrama says:

    You could create a very wild, outrageous list and let it take you to new places…
    BOnnie

  4. Tara says:

    I am looking forward to hearing how you deal with this task!

  5. tam says:

    Very interesting pictures! Is the same character in both pictures? Looks like he has a rock collection! Interesting tasks. I didn’t sign up but I chose the word “glass.” How would I do that?

  6. hey2blondie says:

    I agree about just being. At this phase in my life I just want “to be” and not do. Everyday we do, do, do! Good luck!

  7. Kari Dyer says:

    I like your interpretation of the prompt. My OLW is “create” and while I have lived this word in several ways, I haven’t done well with keeping up with the prompts. :-/ Hope your prompt goes well this month!

  8. ng/Nora says:

    I enjoyed your slice and its tone. I share a contrary attitude about resolutions. Good luck with your “to-be” list.

  9. MaryHelen says:

    I love hearing your voice through this post. I feel like I’m having a conversation with you, nodding my head in agreement in several places. 🙂

  10. I am working with the idea of maybe for the month of May – it is the nablopomo theme – it seems to sit more gently with me than the olw prompts

Leave a Reply

