One Sunflower

June

on June 21, 2011

It takes me a while to slow down.  No matter how much I try to prepare for the transition to summer vacation, I have a difficult time getting over the hump of June.  On one side of the hump is May – the frenetic finishing of projects, the fun and flash of summing up a year with photos and festivities.  The pace is energetic and even though I’m going to bed each night exhausted, I feel elated.  But it is so hard for me to unwind from that and if there are any residual projects or responsibilities left over when the kids are gone, it is especially difficult for me to separate from all that is “school.”

This year my June has been especially full of school related obligations.  I spent the first week readying the art project for display and attending meetings to plan for summer school.  I’m one of four teachers working the session which begins in July.  I’ve also been working side-by-side with the kindergarten teachers to re-think how we do orientation for kindergarteners and their parents in the fall. But I categorize those obligations as “fun” because they tap into my creative and teacher-thinker-learner interests.

There is one responsibility which has almost put the breaks on my smooth slide into summer: I’m moving classrooms this year.  Even though I’m moving to a “Cadillac” room as my principal describes it, I feel guilty about the move.  I really liked my old classroom.  The bus dropped us at our back door, it was a convenient hop to the cafeteria and playground and there was a bathroom right next door to our room.  I spent our first few months training them how to ask to use the toilet, lock the doors and wash their hands and usually by November, I felt they were able to do this by themselves.  If I had any doubt, my aide or I would go with them. But according to the government, preschool children shouldn’t be left to go to the bathroom by themselves.

A mandate is a mandate, so I’m trading rooms with one of the kindergarten teachers. She just moved into that room this year so you can imagine how she feels about the whole thing! I am grateful she is a person who will do her best to put a positive spin on the whole thing and work hard to make the transition successful – for both of us.

I am slowly making my way down the other side of June into July; I’m staying in my PJ’s in the morning while I drink my coffee, I’m getting my bike tuned up and have bought a new carrier for my car.  My sister will be here next week for some day trips in the area.   Somehow I  will get my entire classroom into boxes and across the hall and (arghh!) back on the shelves between now and my first work day on August 22nd but hooray, I’m on summer vacation!

9 responses to “June

  1. Elizabeth G. says:

    Good luck with your classroom move. It can be a big chore but it gives you an opportunity to look at your classroom with fresh eyes. Enjoy your relaxing mornings and have fun putting together your Cadillac classroom (love that).

  2. elsie says:

    Moving classrooms . . . ugh! But I’m sure it will be worth it in the end. Keep sipping the coffee and enjoy the bike rides.

  3. grade4wizard says:

    I can sympathize with you. I am moving my classroom too. In between the packed boxes and opening them I hope that you enjoy the summer fully.

  4. Sprice says:

    Boy, do I feel for you! I’ve had summers like that! Hope you get a chance to stop and smell the flowers and relax. Take one day at a time! Find all the positives that you can. You have a chance to reinvent your room and make it what you want. All the best ot you! Happy slicing! :o)

  5. The Fountain says:

    You capture the transition from school to summer beautifully. I completely understand the room change….I’m doing it myself this year. It’s heartbreaking in many ways.

  6. I got sidelined this week by car problems so my summer is starting early – abruptly too. But I think I can handle it 🙂

  7. Ruth says:

    Yikes! I don’t envy you the work ahead. PJs with coffee is one of life’s simple pleasures — savor it! (PS love your top photo. Is it yours?)

  8. Christy says:

    I completely know what you mean about the transition to summer. It is so difficult to strike a balance between working beyond capacity and a complete summer crawl. It usually isn’t until July that I truly feel settled into my summer groove. I also love how you categorized some of your obligations as fun, too. It is so true that there are some things it is fun to have the ability to take time to re-think. Hopefully organizing your new space will become one of those fun obligations when it is time to settle in!

  9. Linda Baie says:

    Wow-and they say teachers have three months of vacation!! I wish they knew the truth. I changed classrooms a couple of years ago, then moved out again last year–so many choices to make, in addition to you also teaching this summer. Good luck with the mornings in pj’s-that’s the best, those little moments.

Leave a Reply

