One Sunflower

memory lane

on June 28, 2011

My sister’s phone call interrupted my dinner, “Hey! Bill’s invited me to go out for a boat ride, want to join us?”

“Sure, but I need to put on some warmer clothes. I can be at the marina in 20 minutes.”  And then I called back to ask if there would be room on the boat for my son, we could leave his wheelchair on the dock.  “Of course!”

Even though my brother and I live in the same town, I really don’t see him very often.  It is mostly when one of our out-of-town sisters comes to town that we get together.  An invitation to go for a boat ride is a special treat and while I get out on the lake with my dad, I don’t get out on the bay very often at all.

We slowly motored out of the marina passing sailors coming in from their weekend excursions.  Once we were passed the jetty, my brother sped up and took us quickly along the coastline to Chuckanut Bay, where we grew up as kids.

“I was just kayaking here this morning,” my brother said.  “I’ll show you my favorite sandstone formation.”  We motored quietly around the point and into the still bay.  Some young sailors peeped out of their anchored sailboat, probably wishing we weren’t disturbing their quiet retreat.  “The stone reminds me of a wave, like those painted by that Japanese artist, what’s his name?” 

We motored south looking at houses where we used to have friends, or our parents had friends, places we baby sat or mowed lawns, coves that we used to sneak into and swim.

My son listened to it all.  He’s heard the stories before but not always with such a visual tour to accompany the memories.  I wonder what memory lane he’ll take his family down when he is our age?

Maybe it will be about Hovander Park  with its 19th century farmhouse.  We’ve been visiting it every year since he was born.  Now he takes his girl friend there. 

My husband’s family grew up all over the world.  Their trips down memory lane come from old photos.  I’m glad I get to visit my old haunts and share them with the next generation.

11 responses to “memory lane

  1. grade4wizard says:

    I am so glad that you and your son both were able to go on that boat trip.

  2. Ruth says:

    This:
    My son listened to it all. He’s heard the stories before but not always with such a visual tour to accompany the memories. I wonder what memory lane he’ll take his family down when he is our age?
    is a great thought. I love the way you used photos + words to capture this slice.
    Ruth

  3. Deb Day says:

    I love sharing special places with kids…it is always an eye opener to them, these trips down memory lane. Loved the pics that went along with the story. Happy summer!

  4. Elizabeth G says:

    What a wonderful day. Like you, I don’t get enough time with my brother who lives close. The times together are always special. Thank you for sharing the beautiful pictures. I love the sandstone formation….it’s amazing how artistic nature can be.

  5. Linda Baie says:

    You captured this special time so lovingly, and it seems that one thing that made it so good was that you could share it with your son, too. I love that part about him telling the story about the day later in his life. Great to imagine!

  6. elsie says:

    How lucky that you can travel down memory lane by revisiting places with your son. Great pictures to go with your story. Thanks.

  7. Tara says:

    I grew up all around the world, too…most of my childhood haunts probably exist on in my memory these days. How wonderful that your son gets to see yours with his own eyes – you have common memories to treasure.

  8. Nora says:

    I loved your journey into the past. The text and images went really well together.

  9. Christy says:

    What a wonderful memory and a lovely slice of life this impromptu boat ride has developed into! I, too, loved when you entertained the memories your son might share one day.

  10. Donna Smith says:

    At moments in time like these, I sometimes think back to when I was a kid and try to imagine what it would have been like to be able to see into the future and know that I would return to these spots with my memories….Even now, I wonder what things will be significant in my life that I will be looking back on in wonderment. Is that clear???

  11. angygc says:

    I hardly ever stop to remember my childhood and life with my family. Your story gives me pause. I remembered all great memories, because of those I will try that my children have wonderful memories like mine.

    Thanks for you invaluable help on my post called “Mixed feelings”.

Leave a Reply

