One Sunflower

hospitality

on July 12, 2011

Kathleen greeted us at the door and said, “I’ll be with you in a moment, I need to finish with this little boy’s IV and then I’ll be out.”

My fellow teacher-friend and I had just arrived at the B&B on Christina Lake in south eastern BC, Canada.  Our host was soon showing us our room and the amenities of her home.   Over the next three breakfasts with Kathleen and the other guests, we learned that she is one busy woman! Her hospitality extends well beyond the lake front home we had booked for our little vacation. Not only did she run a B&B with three rooms but she also owns two RV sites on the road.  All guests renting from her are invited to dine at her table each morning.  We learned that on the day after we were leaving, she was expecting to be hosting 25 people at breakfast.  Two families come together at her place for about 12 days, bringing two boats, their RV’s, an ice maker and barbecue and set up for fun on her front porch. They’ve been coming for six years and I can see why they come back, Kathleen is up for it all.

It sounds like a full-time job to me but she also works at a local rest home and serves as a nurse for shut-ins and vacationers needing trained assistance like the little boy she was helping on the day we arrived.  During our stay we met two of Kathleen’s friends who come to help make breakfast or clean during the hours she had to work.

My friend and I had a wonderful visit to this area full of history as well as recreational opportunities.  We planned daily excursions that were scenic and informative but we hadn’t counted on the additional benefit of sitting around a table in the morning chatting with our host and her guests.  Our final breakfast happened to include more teachers, one from Georgia and another from Toronto.

At one point in our visit Kathleen asked how we had come to find her B&B.  “Well it’s a sweet story,” I said.  “I wanted to travel to some place new and was looking for accommodations in this area.  When I saw the name Sunflower Inn I couldn’t resist looking you up — because of the name of my blog.”

Kathleen had a great laugh!

5 responses to “hospitality

  1. Linda Baie says:

    What a terrific story, and surprise at the end. I’m happy you had such a great vacation. Sounds lovely, and thanks for the photos, too.

  2. elsie says:

    Your description made me want to find it and go there. Maybe one of these days I will. What an incredible woman! Sounds like you had a great time.

  3. Donna Smith says:

    I want to go to there! It sounds like you made a good choice for a B&B.

  4. Margie says:

    I’m with Donna. I want to go there. Can’t wait to see you and hear more details.

  5. I want to go there, too. Now. But I will settle for Seattle this time 😉 And meeting you!

Leave a Reply

