One Sunflower

Hansel and Gretel are writing

on July 26, 2011

I got lost on the way to our meeting, driving a little too far north and west, but it wasn’t long before I was out of my car, speaking into my cell phone, “I’m here, where are you?” Soon we were waving at each other over parked cars and coming face to face for the first time.

I chanced onto Gretchen’s blog a year or so ago when I was looking for a quotation from Sue Bender’s book, Everyday Sacred.  The quotes popped up as part of a blog entry and my interest was piqued, especially when I read that Gretchen was originally from Washington state.  Skimming through entries I found out we had other things in common, but mostly it was her writing that captured me.  I made a comment to her blog as a way of connecting and soon we were exchanging emails.

I find the intimacy that develops between readers and writers of blogs to be intriguing. Recently I sat down with a woman to collaborate on a project and she shared that she felt as though we had been working together for years rather than months because of the information she gained about me by reading my blog. Publishing and reading blogs has my heart traipsing about the world and over thresholds I will never see with my eyes. I have become like writers everywhere, sprinkling crumbs on the ground, leading one another over new pathways.

Gretchen and I ate lunch together in an outdoor cafe and filled in some of the blanks of our lives that are not a part of our blog writing.  We still have much to learn about each other but the ease with which we settled into conversation, and the hugs at our first greeting and again at parting, are indications of a special and unique bond that has developed between us. (and I wish I’d gotten a picture!)

10 responses to “Hansel and Gretel are writing

  1. elsie says:

    You have hit the nail on the head with ” traipsing about the world and over thresholds I will never see with my eyes.” It amazes me where people are and that we can have just instant contact with glimpses into their lives through their blogs. Meeting in real life would be surreal. Your analogy to Hansel and Gretel is brilliant!

  2. Linda Baie says:

    You’ve described how special it was to meet your blogging friend in its own special way, the Hansel & Gretel analogy, but broadening it out to connecting to so many in so many places shows some of the meaningfulness of our blogging. I like the line “sprinkling crumbs on the ground, leading one another over new pathways.”

  3. Deb Day says:

    How lucky you are! I really like this description of your meeting.

  4. Tara says:

    “Publishing and reading blogs has my heart traipsing about the world and over thresholds I will never see with my eyes. I have become like writers everywhere, sprinkling crumbs on the ground, leading one another over new pathways.”
    That pretty much sums it up so beautifully! Good

  5. Tara says:

    (continuing my previous post) for you that you met up – I am sure that this will be the first of many wonderful get togethers.

  6. I believe that much of this is in you – having had the chance to spend a day with you and feeling like we knew each other in another life. You have a spirit that is open to possibilities and relationship and your writng reflects that.

  7. Kelly Mogk says:

    I agree — blogging and meeting people through these shared adventures is a wonderful experience! Thanks for sharing yours. 🙂

  8. Donna Smith says:

    I never realized what a trip blogging would be. It sounds like you had a great time!

  9. How nice! Thank you for writing about our meeting. I look forward to the opportunity to do the same. Not sure there will be a blog entry before my return home. I love your lines, too, about crumbs and paths and thresholds. It was such a joy to meet your face, after getting to know you through your words.

  10. Elizabeth G. says:

    I just love to hear stories about bloggers meeting in person. You initially caught me with the word WA….I’ll be heading back in a few weeks. Loved the subtle comparisons to Hansel and Gretel. Very crafty.

Leave a Reply

