One Sunflower

Idle – not so much – August

on August 16, 2011

I hadn’t planned to work today…

but guilt came calling at my door – afterall, I’d left Patti’s classroom a mess after summer school and promised I would clean it up on Monday…

I hadn’t planned to work today….

but I had to reshelve the borrowed library books before the librarian turns up at school…..

I hadn’t planned to work today….

but I could barely move around my classroom for all the boxes, maybe if I just put a few more things away………

I hadn’t planned to work today…

but there was that peanut butter and jelly sandwich in my car just in case…

I hadn’t planned to work today…

but I did…

I haven’t planned to work tomorrow…..

7 responses to “Idle – not so much – August

  1. Tam says:

    And so your first day back should be….I hadn’t planned to work but I did because the first day is coming. Teachers do have that time whenever to get ready for all those challenges!!! Have a good first day. Your pre-working days will ease you in.

  2. elsie says:

    Like my post today . . . plans don’t always work out the way you thought they would. You will be glad you put in that time in the long run. Take time to enjoy your unplanned time.

  3. Elizabeth G says:

    It sounds like maybe you unintentionally DID want to work today. I ventured into my room today too. The beckoning call was hard to avoid. Good luck with easing into your routine. At least you control the work hours…for now.

  4. wow —- amazing the power of a peanut butter and jelly sandwich!

  5. Tara says:

    Loved the way you ended this poem…it made me smile…

  6. Ha ha ha! I planned on hauling all my summer school junk back over to my home school but I haven’t done it. Agree with Tara, love the ending. 🙂

Leave a Reply

