One Sunflower

daylight

on August 23, 2011

My school building is buzzing with teachers unpacking boxes, pushing stuff in and out of cupboards, running the copier and laminator non-stop.   Five of us are in new rooms this year. 

The kindergarten teacher and I switched rooms this summer so it’s kind of fun to see what is happening in one anothers space.  We bring different priorities to the design of our spaces, some based on student need, some on our personal needs or desires.   I try to create tons of desk space because I have to be in and out of three different boxes of hanging files every day.   So I take over the counters in the student computer center – since I don’t have computers for my preschoolers.

My old room had one small set of windows by the back door.  When Judi,  the kindergarten teacher, was making plans for how she was going to set up her classroom, she said, “I’ve got to have my reading group table by those windows, I need light.”

Her old room – which is my new room –  has two walls of windows, double the amount of my old room!  My first thought about setting up student space was about which center areas I would put next to the windows to maximize student access to light:  art, blocks, dramatic play, the library, hard to choose!

my old room, now Judi's

The best thing I can say about creating my classroom space is that I’m almost done!  Judi worked all summer and her room is gorgeous.  I’ve been working steadily for about 10 days to catch up.  The furniture is in place, now I need to get stuff on the shelves and color up the walls.

my new room

6 responses to “daylight

  1. Linda Baie says:

    Both rooms look great, but that light in your new room is wonderful! I bet you’ll enjoy it a lot. Thanks for sharing what’s happening and the photos!

  2. elsie says:

    These rooms look great! They look BIG too. I’m sure it will be a relief to have it all put away. Now, planning for kids.

  3. grade4wizard says:

    So much space. Your room looks warm and inviting.
    Terje

  4. Tam says:

    Wow! The space you have!! Windows are wonderful things in a classroom. Just think, you have more window room to observe the first snow fall!! Have a great year.

  5. Nora says:

    Ooh, your classroom is incredible. So open and light. Good luck in your new room!

  6. Theresa says:

    Your room looks great. I hope that you get to take a break and savor a bit more summer before the FIRST DAY. And I discovered you write on two blogs. You are a busy bee!

Leave a Reply

