One Sunflower

breaking ground

on August 28, 2011

Twenty five years ago this month, my husband and I were part of a Self-Help Home building group, ten families building ten homes.  We came to the first meeting at the property sites with a rag-tag collection of tools. What we didn’t have in equipment was surely made up for with our enthusiasm and passion;  these were our own homes we were building!  While we were able to fulfil our tool needs with a trip to the hardware store, we could never have completed the job, nearly 12 months later, without the guidance of a site supervisor and lessons on house building as we went along.

I feel like last week was similar to that first visit to my housing site.  I came to the first professional development meetings with my tool box half stocked. I’ve taken a look at the blueprints, made some suggestions for changes and am now ready to roll up my sleeves and get to work.

This is what is going on in my house this year:
As part of my alliance with other Head Start teachers in our coalition, I will be working to apply our newly adopted guidelines on writing in front of and with my students.  The guidelines are similar to what I was doing last year but my learning edge this year will be in improving the conferring I do with individual students and making sure those notes are part of the student journals.

My work with Pre-K to grade 3 alignment will focus on the structures I put in place to promote student access and achievement towards the goals outlined in our “safety net,” the standards we feel are most essential for each grade level. Grade level teams will meet to review and support each other and then our primary team will come together in October to share out and set new goals.

All of these goals nest well with the over arching district goal of focusing on assessment.  I missed the meeting where teachers set up their own cycles of inquiry but my wheels are turning and I’m sure I’ll have a document ready soon.

So I don’t quite have four walls framed but the cement has been poured.  Pete the Cat is ready to meet my students and my Fountas & Pinnell text is full of sticky notes. My principal has quipped that you eat an elephant one bite at a time. I’m glad I’m not doing all of this work by myself.

Leave a Reply

