One Sunflower

Roses and Thorns

on September 27, 2011

Our check in with staff today was about what is going well, what isn’t and where we are finding support.  Apparently the Obama’s do the same thing and call it “Roses and Thorns”.

Rose: I’ve established a routine in my classroom and most of my students, even the young ones are able to follow along.
Thorn: one isn’t

Rose: We had some great weather for the first week and all my students got introduced to the playground and the track.
Thorn: I have two students who have to be carried in from PE everyday because they are having trouble transitioning.

Rose: I’ve started conferring with students in their journals and I’m putting more work into the teacher side. “I am in the work”
Thorn: My students seem to be less mature every year, stamina is going to be an issue, even in sustaining play.

Rose: I know I’m starting the year off right – nice and slow, lots of play, structure to support transitions, building relationships.
Thorn: It feels crummy when my relationship with just one student -( a child) -( a 3 year old child) – (only on this planet for 36 months) – is in trouble.

7 responses to “Roses and Thorns

  1. Margie says:

    Rose – how very very fortunate these children and their families are to have their paths cross with yours!

  2. Donna Smith says:

    Rose: I love the image with your post today!
    Thorn: I wish there were none. Kids do seem to get younger every year. Sometimes I think it’s because we are trying to do structured things with them earlier and earlier…and they just need to play.
    Rose: I am listing you as a Versatile Blogger. Please check it out on my site http://mainelywrite.blogspot.com/2011/09/virtually-versatile.html
    Thorn: You have to pass it along!

  3. Tara says:

    I know what you mean about diminishing maturity in our kids…I guess the rose aspect of that is that we get to do meaningful work in helping them along.

  4. Linda Baie says:

    Love the roses & thorns way of approaching things, but not that you’re having such a tough time. When it’s a big challenge, I really make myself write down every single wonderful thing and read the list each day. No thorns, only roses. Oh I know, teachers must face the problems in order to plan solutions, but still, remember the roses; I imagine there are more than you think.

  5. elsie says:

    Staying with the theme:
    Rose: we get to read your blog and learn a new structure (roses and thorns).
    Rose: you have such a good outlook in all matters.
    Thorn: sorry, can’t think of one that hasn’t been said.

  6. Tam says:

    What a great outlook on life!!
    Today
    Rose: Another day in the 60’s
    Thorn: Raining like crazy
    Rose: Better than snow
    Thorn: Snow is coming soon enough!

    Thanks for the fun lesson!!!

  7. What a perfect lesson! This would be great to have the kids play with in their writer’s notebooks. And I’m looking at your pic. Is that from something beautiful that you created??? 🙂

Leave a Reply

