One Sunflower

It’s official

on November 21, 2011

I have a birthday coming up after Thanksgiving and it’s one with a 5 in it.  I find the years with 5’s are more significant to me than the one’s with zeros.

I’ve been married 30 years this year.

I’ve been working in early childhood classrooms for as long as I’ve been married, actually longer.

Tonight I attended a meeting of parents who have children enrolled in Head Start programs.   A young woman came in and sat across from me and I started doing the math.  I knew she had been one of my students.

I checked her name tag at the break.

Yup.

Okay, I’m officially an old teacher.

15 responses to “It’s official

  1. Elizabeth G says:

    I love it! I am eagerly awaiting the day when I have one of my student’s children. I think that is one of the joys of our job…seeing the cycle of life and the memories that our students have about us (even when they are parents themselves). Happy Birthday! I hope this 5 is just as special as the other ones.

  2. Love it! Isn’t this what makes teaching so unique, that over-time feedback. Your kids grow up. I love connecting with them on Facebook and face-to-face that’s fantastic.
    Happy Birthday, glad to have you join us 🙂
    Bonnie

  3. Juliann says:

    You know I have many parents who could be my kids – in fact I have teachers working for me who could be my kids! The circle of life. Happy birthday!

  4. carmen rogina says:

    Happy Birthday! What a joy to be able to work with Kids that long…..and still love it as you do. May you recieve many blessings.

  5. Deb Day says:

    Me too–I have had a couple of students who’s parents I taught. In fact, one girl I kept calling by her mother’s name–she just looked so much like her! Hope you make your birthday a great day! Enjoy it all!

  6. The Fountain says:

    A rite of passage in teaching! Happy birthday to you!

  7. DonnaSmith says:

    You are not so much old, as experienced. You are now the holder of the wisdom of the ages torch. You are well-grounded and a force to be reckoned with. You are not old. They are too young!

  8. Linda Baie says:

    At our school, there are several of us who have the luxury of saying we could have taught everyone. My oldest students are parents, etc. One of our teachers has taken on the acronym WOW (wise old woman). So, happiest of birthdays-hope it’s very special.

  9. Tara says:

    Happy Birthday! It’s a great feeling (I believe) to see that teaching circle come around again, to feel part of something much larger.

  10. I suggest you call yourself “seasoned” – not “old” 😉 This has made all the difference to me!!

  11. elsie says:

    Nope, you’re not old, just seasoned or should I say, experienced? Have a happy day and celebrate all the wisdom you have accumulated in these years.

  12. Mariah C. says:

    How neat to see the wheel continue turning. Being able to see the difference you’re making through the years must feel so complete. I look forward to this eventually… Happy Birthday!

  13. There is so much good in growing older. It sounds to me that at the same time you are owning all of your years, you are also able to own all of your accomplishments! Good for you!

  14. Mrs. L says:

    Did she recognize you? How fun!

  15. jwg says:

    Nope. Really old is when one of your kids grows up and comes to work with you.

Leave a Reply

