One Sunflower

you never know what will stick

on December 6, 2011

The parent sat across from me, her eyes darting around the room as I talked about her son.  I’ve met with this parent off and on for two years and know that she struggles to focus on the topic at hand; I’m never sure whether she is understanding what I’m trying to communicate through the translator.

Her son stood next to her as I spoke.  He is just a four year old but I was talking to him as much as I was to her, using the report as a reference to point out accomplishments I was seeing and my current goals for him.  He and I have a good relationship but I wanted to involve his mom in a discussion about the work we are doing together in the classroom.  I asked him to bring me his journal and together we showed her the kind of drawing and writing he is presently doing and I talked what I hope he can achieve before he moves on to kindergarten next year.

His mom nodded but didn’t really give me any clues to her understanding of  the quality I was describing.

A few days later, I sat down beside this student while he was working and he asked me if he was doing what he called “star work.”   He certainly was and it felt good to tell him so and to take heart that my words had taken hold with the one most responsible for applying them.

5 responses to “you never know what will stick

  1. elsie says:

    How wonderful to be able to affirm that his work is “star work”! I just love it when you can learn that your words didn’t fall on deaf ears.

  2. Donna Smith says:

    But it is so frustrating to not get the connection with the parent. It’s scary when you know that you really need the “one responsible” to really be the responsible one at such an early age, and hope that it really sticks for life!

  3. Linda Baie says:

    It’s a good story that tells you how much your words did stick with him, and also clearly meant something to him. Maybe if you asked the translator to help you with the mother? Could the translator give an opinion? It is frustrating to be unsure, but maybe ‘star’ work means something to the family. (I like the snow falling!)

  4. Sounds like this young writer is feeling good about himself as a writer and knows he is growing. What a grown up little guy. 🙂

  5. Tam says:

    No, you never know and when it comes by, woohoo!!! Congratulations on acquiring another one of these teaching moments. I love the snow on your blog–I like snow, I just don’t like to shovel it or drive in it!!!

Leave a Reply

