One Sunflower

spin the Lazy Susan

on December 27, 2011

The true gifts of holiday gatherings are the stories and discussions that happen – around the table, in kitchens and hallways,  chairs pulled close together in a corner linked by table and candlelight.

“You are a teacher, what do you think about the children of today?”

“I heard about it on NPR and decided to check it out.  If it’s been translated that many times over the centuries, there must be something to it.”

“People ask me if I’m sorry my children aren’t coming for the holidays and I tell them it is a crazy time to travel.  Besides, I’d rather visit them in the summer when we can really enjoy each other and be outside!  This year we’re going to do the trip we didn’t get to…..”

“A bomb went off on a block near us and all the oil lamps – that was what we used at the time – went out.  I remember thinking: ‘am I dead?  This isn’t so bad…’  Remember, I was only 5 at the time…”

“Do you want to know where the secret pocket is?  Come closer…..”

“This one is Snowy, and this one is Snowbloom….”

“The candlelight …. and the bells…..they rang the bell at midnight….”

“Merry Christmas, it was so good to talk to you. See you next year!”

6 responses to “spin the Lazy Susan

  1. Elsie says:

    Wonderful snatches of conversations . . . Now I want to know more. I love the variety of these snippets

  2. Linda Baie says:

    I am assuming that you left some out, but these little stories are wonderful, sparked my imagination every time I read one. Really special memories to keep in little bits!

  3. Tam says:

    Christmas is good for slices. Just when you think you’ve heard it all from the same people, you haven’t heard anything yet!! Snippets of life.

  4. marycreid says:

    Story starters all. Family stories are the best.

  5. I can just imagine the way each of these snippets is representative of a special person to you. These are like mini-character sketches. What a fun way to capture your holiday gathering!

  6. Margie says:

    Hmmmmm. This has me listening and thinking differently….and reliving snapshots of sound and thought from the days just past. You have an amazing lens!

Leave a Reply

