One Sunflower

shake it up baby

on February 14, 2012

Maybe it was that tiny taste of spring we had.

Maybe it was because my aide, Maestra, was out for two days and there was a sub in the classroom.

Maybe it was the full moon.

What ever it was, my students were wild last week. Full of beans, a teensy bit sassy, and oh so lazy!

Time to shake things up.  I was kind of hoping I’d be able to forego my usual room rearranging this year but the goofy behavior of my students was an indicator they needed a “reset” button; changing the environment is one of the surest, if not the easiest ways to do that.  So Friday afternoon had me sitting in the middle of the floor contemplating possibilities until I finally just had to start hauling things around and get the process started.

I pushed and pulled and repositioned and then took a break.  I spent the weekend contemplating changes in the daily routine of our school day as another way to shift the emphasis a bit. Then Monday morning found me back in the classroom early to finalize the set up.

I’m out of the classroom today doing observations so I have no idea how the students reacted.  I’m looking forward to guiding them through the other changes I want to make in this reset process – new small groups, new activities to engage learning.

There will be more tastes of spring, more full moons, and occasional substitutes in the classroom.  I won’t be rearranging the furniture every time the kids get off track but it is good to do it at least once during the year!

8 responses to “shake it up baby

  1. Juliann says:

    we had this same thing at school last week – by friday the teachers were exhausted!
    hope the re-arrange helps

  2. Ruth says:

    Environment is often key, isn’t it? I could SO relate to the pushing and pulling and rearranging. Although it’s been too many years since I’ve had my own space to do these things, your slice brought it all back to me.
    Ruth

  3. elsie says:

    Your words echoed the voices of the teachers I worked with last week, and we are many miles apart. Wow! The power of electric currents in the air is the only way I can explain it. I love your phrase “reset button,” it describes it perfectly.

  4. Ruth Ferris says:

    I like the term reset. The kids at my school were wild this week to.

  5. Linda Baie says:

    It is something that comes up around this time, perhaps because of so much ‘inside’ play. Our Expo is this week & the rooms are completely torn up in order to make proper room for the displays of products, etc. It helps, because after, when the room is put back in order, everyone is ready to settle in again. So, your reset button is the perfect term. Words every time. Thanks for sharing.

  6. What a thoughtful and intentional educator you are. Lucky Lucky Lucky children and families.

  7. Tam says:

    I think we all to need to reset this time of year. I broke out my mold this month and tried different things in my community–I’m loving it, and I bet your students did, too. And those full moons are always interesting!

  8. I love your line about the kids being full of beans! This week felt crazy at my school too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

