One Sunflower

I got goosebumps too!

on March 12, 2012

Ruth wrote about goosebumps the other day – I got them the same day – I hope they are contagious!

I didn’t intend to quiz my students about what they know about writing.  It just sort of happened.

I, too, have been using  my students as peer models for each other more and more as the year progresses. On Friday, I invited Alisha to come up and share her writing.  Talking about her story and how we worked together was to be the “set up” for the work of the day.

She shared her story and we discussed how she drew herself and I drew myself and then we each added a detail for the story of us dancing to music.   Just before I was about to excuse partners to their tables to draw, I held up the little checklist I use when I confer with them.  I only meant it as a reminder of the things I talk to them about when they are writing – not as a quiz about what they know.
“Remember this?  It might help you remember what to put in your stories.”

“Yes, it helps you know how to do quality pictures.”
“By telling you to have characters.”
“And setting.”
“Like if you’re outside or inside.”
“And how you’re feeling.”
“And what you say.”
“And to write.”

I am not kidding.  My students said all of those things with those words (yes!) with the single prompt of holding this card up!
And I have a witness!  My principal surprised me by coming in for the lesson.   His eyebrows were doing a dance!


12 responses to “I got goosebumps too!

  1. Donna Smith says:

    Awesome! And nice to have a great lesson witnessed! That was definitely a goosebumps moment.

  2. Fabulous! And you teach preschoolers, too, right? I am continually amazed by the ability of our youngest children to do “big thinking”!

  3. BlueLikeJazz says:

    I bet if you asked the kids, “What are you practicing in your writing today?” that you’d find most of them referring back to your card. We get what we expect and what we teach. You are clearly doing some amazing teaching!

  4. elsie says:

    That is truly a goose bump moment! I love your reminder card for the kids. I’m saving that!

  5. I am excited for you. You are laying such a foundation for lifelong readers and writers. As a librarian I love it!

  6. caroline524 says:

    With such a good foundation, imagine what they can do later on. More goosebumps!!

  7. showgem says:

    Wow! It will be a moment that you will probably remember for a life time. You are doing awesome work.

  8. sprice says:

    I love it when a plan come together! Goosebumps and with the Principal present! Awesome! You must be a great teacher for them to be able to respond to you that way! Thanks for sharing! Happy Slicing! :)

  9. Michelle says:

    Goosebumps well deserved! All your explicit instruction and modeling has sure paid off!

  10. Tam says:

    You prepared them well. They’re ready for testing. Glad your principal’s eyes danced!!!

  11. girlgriot says:

    What a great moment: for the students, for your, for the principal! Definitely goose-bump-inducing!

  12. Stacey says:

    This is AWESOME! What a wonderful moment for you (and for your principal to witness).

Leave a Reply

