One Sunflower

this is what they are missing

on April 3, 2012

Here is a peek of what happened last week in my classroom.

It is spring vacation and I am enjoying a few days away from my classroom.  It has been wonderful.  But while school is closed, the students I serve are probably really missing all that school provides for them.  I wish the days my students spent at home were filled with these sorts of activities — rich with interaction, dialogue and new learning as well as quality time with caregivers or parents.

But that isn’t the case for most of them, and if Head Start disappears – who else will step up to the plate and provide the organization and money to provide this for my students. 
Did I mention money?)

6 responses to “this is what they are missing

  1. gillis says:

    Your photos are beautiful. It’s really unconscionable that there’s discussion about ending Head Start. It makes absolutely no sense not to generously fund early ed programs. Who gets punished? We all do!

  2. Michelle @litlearningzone says:

    Oh, I so struggle with this thought too! I don’t want the TV on or the video games played . . . I want them socializing, learning from each other, reading, painting just like you! It’s amazing when you ask kids after spring break (or any break for that matter) what they did. Of course, their first response is nothing, but then you get talking. Our students just don’t have the same experiences that we can provide. I hope Head Start continues on because you are doing great things!!!!

  3. I love the picture of the block structure that is so big, one student fits inside! This is creativity and focus. You are “right on” about the need for Head Start, excellent preschool programs. I worry about what my young students are doing during spring break, too – they need the interaction, the stimulation. But, wow oh wow, I need this week! Hope you are enjoying yours!

  4. grade4wizard says:

    They all are so engaged in their activities. To have many choices available is important for their development. I hope that the money won’t disappear.

  5. Lori says:

    I see my students at age 5 that only want to write about video games. It takes months of rich experiences to have them think of something other than gaming.

  6. djts says:

    I loved the picture of the boy in the tunnel! I would have liked to either be in there or building the tunnel over him!

Leave a Reply

