One Sunflower

The Egg

The Egg by M. P. Robertson is one of my favorite books, and I’ve featured it as one of “Books for Saturday’s Child.”

This year I seem to be finding a variety of ways to engage my students in activities over time and then tie them together with a favorite story.  Such is the case with this “egg” project.

In March, I put out paint breyers and gave my students time to paint.  Some enjoyed making stripes, some just enjoyed the motion of painting and didn’t seem too concerned about design.

I saved all their painted paper.  Just before our spring vacation which coincided with the occasion of Easter Egg hunts, I demonstrated how I could draw an oval on my painted paper and cut it out to look like an egg. Then I went on to cut a zig-zag to make it look like it cracked open.  We had some fun thinking about what might come out of my egg.  I charged them to spend time over vacation thinking about what they might like to have come out of their egg.

When they returned to school, I read them The Egg.  They cut out their own ovals and those difficult zig zag lines and we did some practice pictures of creatures.

Last Friday they drew a final draft.  I’ve got to be out of the classroom for a few days but when I return, we will put our eggs and creatures on display and write stories to go with them.

a cat

a mama and her babies

a bunny

a dragon

4 Comments »