One Sunflower

speech doubles

I’ve been spending time putting together my student portfolios and doing a bit of a memory walk. This slice is a reflection on another one of the delights of a preschooler – the way they work to make sense of words they don’t quite understand.

My preschoolers often don’t have the background knowledge or enough context to make sense of some of the words I use when teaching.  (What they think I’ve said sometimes makes more sense – as in the case of “wipe boards” instead of “white boards.”)  I understand their confusion and chuckle at the way they try to make syllables match what they think I have said.

My most recent example of this is “speech double.”  It is interesting to note they have chosen the word double instead of bubble.  I’m sure it is mostly a confusion of the “b” and “d” sound instead of a conflict with the idea of a bubble.   My students spent time in February putting together a story by beginning with some cut-outs of characters and adding a setting and then the speech bubbles.

I realize I probably didn’t describe these little circles in my drawings very well – because surely my students know what bubbles are and I should have been able to help them make the connection!  Chalk one up for being more diligent in my explanations!

As an adult with plenty of extraneous context to reference, I think describing those little circles with scratchy letters in them as speech “doubles” is pretty accurate.  Don’t they have wonderful stories!?!

2 Comments »