One Sunflower

turning of the tide

on July 24, 2012

Slice of Life sponsored by Two Writing Teachers

If I count my days of summer vacation from my last official work day of 2011-12 to my first official work day of 2012-12 then I passed the half way point two weeks ago.  But I wasn’t paying attention; the low tide came and went and I was blissfully unaware.

I wasn’t counting until I received an email from a special education colleague  describing a few of the children who might be enrolled in my class next year.  AHHHHH! If I’m going to stick with the metaphor, I only just freed myself from the seaweed, kelp and barnacles of last year.   I’m high and dry on the beach and don’t really want to move.

Yet. I will.  I always do.  I’m not sure what shift happens in August that makes it possible for me to swim towards September’s cresting waves.  But  like a baby sea turtle , I seem to know when it’s time to nose my way out of my rubbery shell and paddle to the sea, into the approaching tide.

12 responses to “turning of the tide

  1. Nice metaphor, I am feeling like you! I will know when it’s time…

  2. Lynn says:

    Enjoyed your metaphor…just not quite ready to swim towards the September waves… would much rather be back in the ocean swimming to the crest of the real thing!

  3. Lory says:

    I think many are thinking of the sad ending of summer. Great job.

  4. Your last line..it was terrific. This was such an honest post…we do understand that knowledge of when it is time. xo nanc

  5. What a great image. I’m not ready and we go back on the 20th.

  6. uiwpwendy says:

    I have been ready to go back for weeks. Until now. Now I am anxious for That Email to arrive– the one that will signal the time has come. Can you help with registration? You can check out your keys! A few things before we start… I got a pit in my stomach the minute you mentioned yours. Ugh! I think I’ll head to the beach.

  7. I have one more summer fling, a visit from my grandson, then I have to jump into the waves. Thanks for the beautiful, yet a bit scary, metaphor, Amelia.

  8. I like being blissfully unaware, but alas, I start school next week. So I made a list reminding me of what I love about teaching, and that is helping me face the inevitable tide. I love comparing this turning in our lives to the tide.

  9. Donna Smith says:

    Loved this.
    I remember not wanting to go into stores starting about now, with their “back to school” sales starting. It seemed as soon as the good part of summer started they were poking us with reminders!
    I’m retired now, and I just want you to know (I had always wondered) that the seasons are much longer than they seem while we are teaching. Summer has an earlier beginning and a much farther away ending!

  10. Ramona says:

    I love the simile of the baby sea turtle paddling to the sea and the approaching tide. I’ll keep that image in mind as we turn the corner into August.

  11. Juliann says:

    Love the metaphor! And yes, the wave of a new year are nipping at my toes too.

  12. Robin says:

    This is a perfect metaphor! It’s very easy to ride the waves of summer but harder to come back after. Thanks for sharing – this is exactly how I have been feeling lately too!

Leave a Reply

