One Sunflower

hey big people

on September 18, 2012

Hey there big people!

I’m in preschool!  I made it through my first week and I love it.  It is incredible.  At first I was really scared.  Everything is so big and so strange and I don’t know anybody and…I miss my mommy.

But my teachers hug me when I’m sad and they talk soft to me and hold my hand and there are other kids here.  I like the other kids.  But mostly, I like to play.  And I get to.  I get to play with all kinds of stuff I don’t have at home and it’s really really fun.
 

There’s other stuff I like too.  I like how we sing songs together and have a story.  I love to play on the playground, its like the park!  I learned how to go down the little pole all by myself.  Teacher says I have to practice more before I try the big pole, but she says she knows I’ll be able to do it soon.

Teacher draws stories on paper every day.  She has a dog that goes “woof woof.”
I got to draw a story too! 
Mommy helped me the first day but now I’m drawing by myself.

We eat breakfast at school and lunch too.  Sometimes I don’t like what they have for lunch.  We even brush our teeth at school. And I get to ride a real school bus.  I can’t do my straps yet but I’m trying to figure them out.  On the way home I always fall asleep.

I love school and I’m going to come every day.

4 responses to “hey big people

  1. luckygurl says:

    Sweet. You could also title this post–Little Kids, Big Feelings. Fear, Pride, Curiosity, Joy, Loneliness, Connection– they’re all here! I love the glimpses you’ve given of their writing. Can’t wait to watch it grow…

  2. Elsie says:

    That is the experience and joy I wish all kids could have. Lucky kids to be with you!

  3. Love this! You are in a preschooler’s shoes, walking their walk, talking their talk. I’m curious – what do you mean “teacher draws stories on paper everyday”? Is this you taking notes? Love the imagery! Love (and believe!) the idea that our writing gets children excited about writing, too. Happy new school year!

  4. Jenny says:

    Love it! On the first Thursday-the last day of our first full week together, one 3 year old told me as they were lining up for the bus, “I’ll be back, I promise!” I told her, “Me too.”

Leave a Reply

