One Sunflower

spare room

on November 27, 2012

On Mondays, my classroom is a “spare room.”  I don’t have students attending on Mondays and I’m usually occupied logging data on my computer, doing home visits or convening with others for professional development or other meetings.  Space is currently a primium at our school; every office, every hallway and cubby hole is occupied every day over the full course of the day.  So on Mondays and after my students leave the other 4 days, it isn’t uncommon for little happenings to occur in my classroom for brief parts of the day.

Such was the case this morning and what a delight it was for me to be a fly on the wall in my classroom.  A retired couple in our district, who are frequent volunteers in classrooms, had gathered all kinds of gift items and set up a little Christmas shop for children of single parent families.  The students were brought to the room in groups of three and with an adult helper they browsed the tables for one big thing and one small thing and then wrapped them up, wrote a card and slipped it into a large shopping bag to take home.

I watched slyly from my desk and could tell when the realization of what they were doing sank in.  Their eyes would change, a little smile would form on their lips and a few of them got a bit giddy.  It was absolutely precious to watch.

I didn’t get much work done this morning.

9 responses to “spare room

  1. Juliann says:

    That space thing is the story at our school too. I share and office with the elementary principal and we have learned how to be in the same space and not be in each other’s business. But it is also lovely to have a companion on the journey.

  2. Laura LA says:

    Witnessing these lovely interactions is one of the great benefits of a shared space. I wish every school had all the space it needed, but I do love the camaraderie of a space well shared.

  3. Tara says:

    This slice made me feel so warm inside – how wonderful for those children that there are people in this world with big hearts.

  4. Margie says:

    Sometimes it is do delightful to be a fly on the wall. Bless that couple.

  5. Donna Smith says:

    How exciting to be able to be that fly on the wall!

  6. What a lovely and selfless idea contributing in the real spirit of the holiday.

  7. elsie says:

    What a blessing for those children! Such fun to watch!

  8. amandavillagomez says:

    I love how you captured what you observed in the students’ faces. I could imagine you savoring the moment.

  9. Jaana says:

    What a blessing to have volunteers with such big hearts!

Leave a Reply

