One Sunflower

I’ll be coming around the mountain

on December 3, 2012

It is time again – for the staff at my school to revisit their cycles of inquiry, and process the data/evidence we’ve been collecting over the quarter.  We are part of a grant this year so there is extra money and extra time for every one to do this work which is great.  But of course a different timeline and agenda for the work puts everyone in a tizzy.

I came back from Thanksgiving Break with a pall of gloom over my head as I anticipated the Dec. 5th deadline.  My head was trying to remember the glorious goals I set for myself in September and get back on track with the reflective processes I set in motion in October.  Somehow the month of assessments and conferences in November got me way off the path.

But a short meeting with our teacher-leaders for this process and an email from the principal with some guiding questions to consider has worked like a “trip check” from Triple A.  I think I’m back on track and feeling less like I have a flat tire and more like I’m going for a taxi to the airport.

Of course I’m the one who has to pack and call the taxi — but I can do it, I’ve got the guidance to move forward.

4 responses to “I’ll be coming around the mountain

  1. Juliann says:

    I have been trying to get back on track here too. To be honest, my goals are so far from even being touched that I am afraid to pull up the files where I recorded them – but after reading this, I will make that a priority for my day. It will be a good trip because I too have some help with the planning and navigation – love the metaphor 🙂

  2. gigi2pnw says:

    Hi Amelia.

    How did you add snowflakes to your blog? I love it 🙂

  3. luckygurl says:

    Goals? Did I have goals when this year started? Oh yeah! This also may be a little bit of a story about not being too hard on yourself and finding the shimmer in less than perfect work…?

  4. I feel your pain! I hope you will share more about how well this process goes…have you been given enough extra time? (Is there ever enough?) Processing data/evidence is so time-consuming! Kudos to your principal for guiding questions! Kudos to you for renewed energy!

Leave a Reply

